I made this bag this morning using the pattern and instructions from tiny happy, who has lots of other neat things at her blog. The outside of the bag is made from an old shower curtain someone gave us.


The inside is made from an old sheet the same person gave us. And the pocket and button loop are from my scraps. The button has been around long enough I don’t know where it came from.

I didn’t follow her instructions exactly, of course. I’m constitutionally unable to follow instructions exactly. My pocket is about 1/4 inch longer than she says to cut it. I put the pocket on the inside before I sewed the bottom seam of the bag. I used 3/8 inch seam allowances. I also suggest that if you’re using fabric that frays really easily, like, say, an old shower curtain, that you finish your seam allowances by zigzagging them, or serging them if you have a serger.

Now that I know how to do this, I want to play with the dimensions and details and make my own pattern(s).

A big THANK YOU to tiny happy for her excellent tutorial.