This is what we had for dinner last night. We dipped chips in it. It would also be good wrapped in a tortilla. I found large cans of fat free refried beans at my local grocery store. There was no fat at all, ergo no worries about trans fats, hydrogenated oils, etc. But it was already seasoned, ergo no worries about my sometimes faulty ability to season a dish.

  • 1 lg can fat free refried beans
  • 2 Tbsp butter
  • 8 oz cheddar cheese, shredded
  • 8 oz Monterey jack cheese, shredded
  • sour cream
  • green onion

Melt butter in sauce pan. Add refried beans and heat through. Mix cheeses. Layer ingredients as desired in baking dish.

I think this would be good with tomatoes, too. Another really good addition would be cooked ground meat with taco seasoning.
Today, I’m heating the leftovers in the oven and I’ll probably serve it with more sour cream on the side, since I didn’t put much in the dish.