One of Hannah’s Christmas gifts was a set of lace-up cards. They came without any box or bag to keep them together, so when Hannah started begging to sew something with me, I suggested we make a bag for her cards and strings. (I almost typed “strangs”. That’s how you know I grew up in the South.) We chose the “Royal Stuff” Mary Engelbreit print that I’ve had laying around for several years (I bought it as a remnant.) and whipped up this simple drawstring bag. Ruth had to have one, too, and she chose the purple with pink flowers. We finished hers this morning after breakfast. She’s keeping some color-by-number pictures and crayons in hers.

A simple drawstring bag is a wonderful quick project. They don’t take long at all – even if you finish all the seam allowances. They can be made in any fabric and almost any size. A large one out of canvas is great for hauling laundry across a college campus. A tiny one in velvet and lined in satin is perfect for a special piece of jewelry.

I also made a dress for Hannah yesterday, but will take pictures and blog about it after I finish the accompanying bloomers. It’s done though, so yay me!