I bought this pattern at the Simplicity sale at JoAnn this last weekend. (It’s the one I bought the wrong size of. Anyone want this pattern in sizes 14-22? Free for postage. The pieces are cut apart from each other but not cut out.) It’s pattern number 3888. I chose fabric similar to that used on the envelope front, but in green instead of blue. This dress was not difficult to make. I recommend that if you make it you mark the dots at the inset angles well. And pin them well. I prefer to staystitch the inset angles and clip the seam allowance so sewing the seams goes more smoothly. Other than that, this dress was a slap-it-together breeze.

Changes I made: I raised the neckline 2 1/2 inches. I lengthened the dress 9 inches.

The next one needs to be made in something with more drape – maybe a nice rayon. And I want to do the bands in matching rather than contrasting fabric next, or maybe just not such high contrast. I like the contrast, but want to try less, too. And I think I would prefer a larger scale print – something with a larger repeat and less of a “calico print” feel to it.

I think this is the closest thing to a kimono I’ll ever be able to wear convincingly.